# TiDB Cloud Automatic Backup

__*TiDB Cloud automatic backup*__

![left](./student-guide/diagram/TiDBCloudAutomaticBackup_aa_001_20220628.png)
-------------------------------------------------------------
TiDB Cloud provides two types of data backups: automatic backups and manual backups.

This feature is only available for Dedicated Tier clusters

For automated backups, the existing backup is replaced by a newer backup.

For manual backups, if you already have two backups, you need to delete at least one before you can make another backup.

Auto backup

With automatic backups, you can back up your cluster data every day at a set backup time. To set the backup time, follow these steps:
Navigate to the Backup tab of the cluster.
Click Auto Setting to display the settings window.
In the settings window, select the Backup Time and Maximum number of backup files in Limit (backup files)
Click Confirm.

Note that you can't disable automatic backups.

Deleting backup files
To delete an existing backup file, follow these steps:

Navigate to the Backup tab of the cluster.
Click Delete for the backup file you want to delete.

Backup best practices
We recommend that you perform backup operations during cluster idle time to minimize the impact on your business.
Do not run a manual backup when you import data or during cluster scale.
When you delete a cluster, existing manual backup files persist until you manually delete them or your account is closed. Autobacked-up files are retained for 7 days from the date the cluster is deleted. You need to delete the backup files accordingly.