# TiDB Cloud Manual Backup

__*TiDB Cloud Manual Backup*__

![left](./student-guide/diagram/TiDBCloudManualBackup_aa_001_20220628.png)
-------------------------------------------------------------
TiDB Cloud provides two types of data backups: automatic backups and manual backups.

This feature is only available for Dedicated Tier clusters

For automated backups, the existing backup is replaced by a newer backup.

For manual backups, if you already have two backups, you need to delete at least one before you can make another backup.

Manual backups are user-initiated backups that enable you to back up data to a known state as needed, and then restore to that state at any time.

To apply a manual backup to a TiDB cluster, follow these steps:
Navigate to the Backup tab of the cluster.
Click Manual in the upper right corner
Enter a name.
Click Confirm. Then back up your cluster data

Deleting backup files
To delete an existing backup file, follow these steps:

Navigate to the Backup tab of the cluster.
Click Delete for the backup file you want to delete.

Backup best practices
We recommend that you perform backup operations during cluster idle time to minimize the impact on your business.
Do not run a manual backup when you import data or during cluster scale.
When you delete a cluster, existing manual backup files persist until you manually delete them or your account is closed. Autobacked-up files are retained for 7 days from the date the cluster is deleted. You need to delete the backup files accordingly.